Arkansas Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (ARKTESOL) seeks to promote opportunity for the teaching and learning of English as an additional language in Arkansas to individuals whose first language is not English.  

ARKTESOL was recognized in 1980 as a state affiliate of TESOL International Association and is now incorporated as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization under the laws of Arkansas.

Our beliefs and vision are expressed in the ARKTESOL Constitution. Additional information about governance can be found in the Bylaws.

If you have information about the organization's history please contact us using the form at the bottom of this page.

Do you have questions for us?  Would you like to be more involved? Please contact us.

Regional Representatives (appointed, voting members)

​Central 1       Sharon Nichols, Conway School District

Central 2       Maria Touchstone, North LR School District 

Northeast      Joyce Richey, Batesville School District

Northwest 1   Grace Davis, John Brown University

Northwest 2   Open 

Southeast      Milca Hudgens

Southwest     Julia Correia

West 1          Danielle Stewart, Russellville School District

West 2          Anna Fulmer, Clarksville School District

Arkansas Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages


  Committees & Other Appointed Positions (non-voting)

  ​Community Board

  ​Ursula Chandler, Arkansas Tech University

  Rey Hernandez, Arkansas LULAC

​  Mandy James, George's, Inc

  Felicia Lincoln, University of Arkansas

  Mireya Reith, Arkansas United Community Coalition(AUCC)

  Scholarships & Awards Chair

  Tina Howlett, Rogers School District

​  Website Coordinator

  Leslie Moore, Siloam Springs School District

2015 Board of Directors

Elected Officers (elected, voting members)

President            Tricia Kerr, Arkansas Dept. of Education

1st VP                 Dawn Shinn, Lake Hamilton School District

​2nd VP                Open

Past President      Katrina Cox, Bryant School District

Secretary            Christie Jay, Bentonville School Districrt

Communications   Open


Appointed, Voting Member

​Treasurer     Judy Hobson, John Brown University