ARKTESOL now offers five award opportunities for educators and students.  

See below for details and applications.

Masters in TESOL 

This award is intended to support current graduate students in the development of projects with direct application to ESOL classroom instruction. The recipient of this award is expected to present the results of the project at an ARKTESOL Conference within 3 years of the date the award is received.  The recipient receives $1000 upon completion of the project.


2017: Rachel Gerner, The University of Arkansas

Arkansas Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages

​​Educator Grant

Recipients of the Educator Grant may use funds for non-administrative ESOL projects and materials that cannot be funded from other sources.  Grants will not be awarded to fund regular classroom equipment, field trips, entertainment, food, or regular instructional materials.  See the application for additional information.


​2014: Julia Crane

Outstanding Educator of the Year

The Outstanding Educator of the Year is recognized during the

​annual fall conference.  In addition to the award, the recipient receives a complimentary registration to the conference in the year awarded. 


2017: Rebecca Macy, Fort Smith Public Schools

2016: Julia Crane, Springdale Public Schools

​2015: Marline Vernon, Springdale Public Schools

2014: Bree Waymack, Springdale Public Schools

2013: no award given

2012: Julia Correia, Henderson State University

Coordinator/Administrator of the Year

The outstanding ESOL coordinator or administrator recognized receives an award of $1000. An essay and recommendation letters are required with application.


2017: Danielle Stewart, Russelleville Public Schools

Student Scholarship

​Current or Former ESOL students may apply for a $1000 Student Scholarship.  The scholarship is potentially renewable for four years for a total amount of $4000.  Applicants must be committed to pursue education beyond high school.  There is no GPA requirement but financial need is considered.



Margarita Aldape, Rogers High School

Alondra Altamirano, Springdale Har-Ber High School

Angela Calderon, DeQueen High School

Isabel Gomez, Fayetteville High School

Nhu Tran, Fayetteville High School


Gifty Agana, Fayetteville High School

Julio Nolasco, Rogers High School

Guadalupe Jacqueline Romero, Rogers High School

Manna Sakon, Fayetteville High School

David Torres, Rogers High School


Jacqueline Interiano, Rogers Heritage High School

Alan Lopez, Springdale High School

Frida Mateo-Rodriguez, Rogers Heritage High School

Karina Sanchez Huerta, Rogers Heritage High School

Mariana Soto, Pea Ridge High School


Gisel Castillo-Garcia, Siloam Springs High School

Berenice Martinez, Springdale High School

Jose Mejia, Springdale High School

Sandra Orellana, Springdale High School

Juan Luis Palacios-Romero, Eureka Springs High School


Edith Figueroa, Berryville High School

Lidia Garcia, Rogers High School

Ruchika Gogia, Heritage High School

Selena Joya, Heritage High School

Yesenia Martinez, Heritage High School


Jinson Kang, Bryant High School

Noel Flores, Rogers High School

Stefany Sierra, Rogers High School

​Diego Santillan, Rogers Heritage High School